A new worm using the promise of a photo viewing application as a lure recently began spreading across Facebook.

"The photo lure is used to hoodwink potential users into downloading a malicious file, which appears in the guise of a photo viewing application," writes The Register's John Leyden. "Victims are prompted to click a 'View Photo' button."


"Gullible users who fell for the scam became infected by malware, dubbed Palevo-BB by net security firm Sophos," Leyden writes. "The malware attempts to generate a message to the victim's Facebook contacts, continuing the infection cycle."

Click here to read the article at The Register.

For regular security news updates, follow eSecurityPlanet on Twitter: @eSecurityP.