Google has announced the addition of security warning notifications to Google Dashboard that will appear when suspicious logins occur at any service associated with a user's Google account.

"Google has set up its Dashboard notifications to provide a 'more details' pop-up window that provides an opportunity to change a possibly compromised password on the spot," writes InformationWeek's Thomas Claburn. "The notification is similar to a warning message added to Gmail back in March, which itself represented an expansion on IP log information presented to Gmail users in 2008 for similar purposes."


"The reason to provide such information is to make the user aware of possible unauthorized logins and to mitigate the risk that an attacker might breach a given account and might configure it to forward copies of messages to the attacker without the account owner's knowledge," Claburn writes.

Click here to read the InformationWeek article.